Public Message Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Dilution of credibility

I've got to admit that I am very confused with this brouhaha over the Master Instructor program. Although I'm a fairly active part-time instructor and a full time aviation educator, I don't think that either side of the argument has been successful in communicating the issues with the instuctor community as a whole. Putting that aside, though, I see that NAFI's Master Instructor Program was extended by the FAA on April 1st (according to the NAFI web site). Now we have Master Instructors LLC announcing via the SAFE web site on April 24th that they have an FAA-approved Master Instructor Continuing Education Program. If I was interested in pursing credentials, I now have no idea which way to turn. If the FAA has in fact approved both programs, we now have diluted the credibility of both programs. Although I've been procrastinating for quite some time over submitting an application, I really don't know what to believe. The Master Instructor web site lacks any information to make me feel confortable that it will be a viable organization at this time. Yet the consternation with NAFI raised by many over undisclosed Board actions makes me question that organization too. I just wish someone, maybe the Hills for example, would tell us what started this all in the first place. What happened to cause some of the NAFI Board to not want to "elect" the Hills again? I have yet to see that explained anywhere. It seems everything in the forums about this issue centers around the election process, the Bylaws and questionable actions of some of the NAFI Board. Granted, I too, believe that is an issue, but it still doesn't give me any insight into what started all of this in the first place. I think we all deserve to know what was the disagreement between the Hills and the NAFI Board members that caused all of this.

Re: Dilution of credibility

Mark,