Public Message Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Recent FAA Sport Pilot Interpretation

Can an ATP candidate count all his time with his CFI????

Walter Coats
I am a private pilot, with instrument rating, a sport instructor and have logged about 500 total hours with about 300 dual given. There is no way that a sport instructor should be counted at the same level as a regular instructor.

I, too, am a private pilot, with no instrument rating, but a CFI-SP and about 200 hours in my own LSA. When I joined SAFE at Oshkosh, I was told I was one of the first, if not the first, CFI-SPs in SAFE.

To me, it comes down to a simple question: What's different about the instruction given by a CFI-SP as opposed to the instruction given by a CFI-A? The answer is that, for those things that are common to sport and private pilot ratings, not a doggone thing!.

True, I'm not qualified to teach a pilot how to do a chandelle. That's not required for the sport pilot rating. I am qualified to teach everything in the sport pilot standards, and to the same standard of performance as a private pilot doing those same maneuvers. I know darned good and well that the examiner tested me to the same standard as he would a CFI-A. We had that discussion before the checkride began. He feels, and I agree wholeheartedly, that a CFI-SP must be able to teach to the same level of performance as a CFI-A, in order for sport pilots to be as safe as their privilege set allows.

Yes, there are some incredibility talented sport instructors out there but there are also a whole lot of them who don't know an aileron from an elevator.

...just as there are CFI-As at both levels of performance you cite. The level of certificate does not tell the story. The professionalism and level of ability does.

I don't think we can make universal comments about either group of CFIs. Not all of the H CFI's are youngsters who are airline bound.